Published in News

Intel hatches a new clutch of Xeons

by on05 May 2017

Based around Skylake-SP

Intel unveiled information regarding a new Xeon processor family, some of which use the Skylake-SP architecture.

Intel will have four levels of Xeon processors that scale with respect to feature support and core counts.

Intel is calling it the Xeon Scalable Family with Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum processors. This might be a little confusing because, if you know the code, Xeon model names follow a easy-to-understand format.

For example in the Xeon E5-4640 v4 the "E5" means that it is in the middle of Intel's current stack in terms of features and capabilities and the "4" signifies use in a 4-socket system. The "v4" represents the architecture. Intel’s name changes mean that the Xeon E5-4640 v4 will be the Xeon Gold 4640.

The new chips support AVX-512 instructions, QuickAssist and Volume Management Device (VMD) technologies that will take advantage of NVMe solid-state drives.

The platform will also support complementary processing engines and IO technologies like Intel FPGAs, Xeon Phi accelerators and Silicon Photonics connectivity.

Intel said the processors will be arriving to market this summer and there isn’t  a price list yet.

Last modified on 05 May 2017
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Read more about: