Published in News

Nvidia Logan is Tegra K1

by on06 January 2014

192 cores for all

Nvidia announced their next generation Tegra part formally known by the code name of "Logan". The part has been officially titled the Tegra K1, since Nvidia heavily pushing the GPU side of the part.  This latest generation Tegra part sports 192-CUDA programmable cores.

According to Jen-Hsun, calling the part Tegra 5 didn’t feel appropriate. The "K" part stands for Kepler of which the architecture is based on. The one thing that the Tegra K1 will lack is native on-chip support for LTE.  

Part of the launch announcement for the Tegra K1, was that EPIC will be bringing their next generation Unreal gaming engine to the Tegra platform.  According to EPIC, the latest generation of the engine can now scale to mobile, with some obvious tradeoffs.

Last modified on 06 January 2014
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Read more about: