Featured Articles

IHS teardown reveals Galaxy S5 BOM

IHS teardown reveals Galaxy S5 BOM

Research firm IHS got hold of Samsung’s new flagship smartphone and took it apart to the last bolt to figure out…

More...
Galaxy S5, HTC One M8 available selling well

Galaxy S5, HTC One M8 available selling well

Samsung’s Galaxy S5 has finally gone on sale and it can be yours for €699, which is quite a lot of…

More...
Intel lists Haswell refresh parts

Intel lists Haswell refresh parts

Intel has added a load of Haswell refresh parts to its official price list and there really aren’t any surprises to…

More...
Respawn confirms Titanfall DLC for May

Respawn confirms Titanfall DLC for May

During his appearance at PAX East panel and confirmed on Twitter, Titanfall developer Respawn confirmed that the first DLC pack for…

More...
KFA2 GTX 780 Ti Hall Of Fame reviewed

KFA2 GTX 780 Ti Hall Of Fame reviewed

KFA2 gained a lot of overclocking experience with the GTX 780 Hall of Fame (HOF), which we had a chance to…

More...
Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2010 orks, a business unit of Nuevvo Webware Ltd.
Monday, 21 February 2011 13:53

ASRock E350M1 Brazos Review - Multimedia

Written by Eliot Kucharik

E350M1_board_front_small fusion 

Review: Intel Atom is dead




The BIOS does not support any over-/underclocking or undervoltage capabilities which means the CPU is also locked. You can just enable or disable the CPU sleep mode which does saves a tiny bit of energy, but also does reduce performance a bit. While the CPU officially only supports 1066MHz the latest BIOS we got enabled 1333MHz which does boost performance.

E350M1_cpuz


The most use for such an APU besides surfing is of course as an HTPC. With the UVD3 engine it should do all the basic needs. You can just forget about 3D blu-ray, because the APU does not support HDMI 1.4 which is required. We are not fans of the 3D-hype and which of course should be called "fake-3D", so it won't bother us. Also there are restrictions with blu-rays which are encoded with 60fps. The GPU is too weak to manage that, but 24fps is not a problem at all.

Here we played the intro of Spiderman 3 which is very strainful due to the high encoding bitrate of about 45-60Mb/s. With about 38-50% CPU utilization, there is enough room to do other stuff, but who wants that anyways.

E-350 1080p blu-ray


More demaning is 1080p with flash. We used a movie trailer on youtube and it goes even higher than a blu-ray disc, which points to a problem with decoding support by flash for AMD graphics, but we are confident they will sort out the problems in the near feature. Regardsless of the higher CPU utilization it was playable without hiccups.

E-350 1080p Flash



If you have to happen some 1080p material in form of a .mkv file which is normally only encoded with about 10Mb/s then you will not have any problem at all. The CPU cores are not heavily under load at all and peek around 18%.

 

E-350 1080p file


With common 720p flash videos, the APU peeks around 27% but nothing to worry about.

 

E-350 720p Flash



Normal .avis or other low resulution stuff no problem at all. Of course we tested with Media Player Classic which supports DXVA and is much more usefull compared to Windows Media Player.


(Page 4 of 6)
Last modified on Monday, 21 February 2011 20:11
blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments  

 
+8 #1 East17 2011-02-21 14:34
Atom is dead!

Thanks for the good news Eliot. :) Now let's put it into an unnamed grave... so that no intel marketing voodoo would bring it back.
 
 
+25 #2 guideX 2011-02-21 15:15
Does anyone understand this review? It begins by saying Atom (CPU) is DEAD, criticizes AsRock (OEM), complains you can't game on a 18W card, CONFUSING CONFUSING graphs which made no sense, claims that the Atom D525 could not be reviewed, Subsequently uses Atom D525 in a benchmark and ends with saying E350 is crap?

The hell

oh and im really serious about your graphs, nobody understands them.
 
 
-19 #3 East17 2011-02-21 15:23
Good review! Got my vote! Thanks!
 
 
-1 #4 123s 2011-02-21 15:34
I liked the review too. Just why testing FC2 on high and not mid/low, to make it somehow playable ?
 
 
+18 #5 bunker 2011-02-21 15:40
i dont get it. AMD did just OK..
have you not looked at the "cost per percentage"-graph.

Brazos offers between 30-20% more performance per dollar! how is that "just OK"


i mean seriously brazos is a sexy piece of silicon. its faster CPU-side, faster GPU-side, better compatibility, lower power consumption, lower price than atom (even with ion)


YOU MAKE THE DAMN GRAPHs YOURSELF, READ THEM. THEN MAKE CONCLUSIONS, dont just discart the graphs.

and troo find a better way to plot your figures it takes ages to see which color is which bar. and then still its unreadable
 
 
+8 #6 Psycho 2011-02-21 15:50
My miniitx box with this board, an old (7w idle) 3.5" harddrive and with a 75w external brick-psu consumes 20w idle and 30w load. (and peaks at 45w at startup because of hd spin up..). So the bad power figures here are really due to that big PSU, and far from comparable to the boxed ion system.

And btw, regarding the "useless" vga connector - my tv can only accept it's native 1366x768 by the vga input, so glad it's there..
 
 
+8 #7 TechHog 2011-02-21 16:17
Quoting guideX:
Does anyone understand this review? It begins by saying Atom (CPU) is DEAD, criticizes AsRock (OEM), complains you can't game on a 18W card, CONFUSING CONFUSING graphs which made no sense, claims that the Atom D525 could not be reviewed, Subsequently uses Atom D525 in a benchmark and ends with saying E350 is crap?

The hell

oh and im really serious about your graphs, nobody understands them.

And on top of all that, they used XP for the testing. This isn't 2006. Windows 7 runs fine on low-end hardware, and most systems using this board will use Windows 7. I'm probably overreacting, but I just have a hard time taking a tech review seriously when Windows XP is used in 2011.
 
 
+13 #8 MrScary 2011-02-21 16:25
This review is gonna be nominated to the razzies of the worst tecnical press review ever made :D, is super laughtable, a joke.

Like said guidex, is a total nonsense.

If you want to know the truth just go to anadtech or legitreviews, the made the best review about AMD Fusion, and is clearly a winner.

AMD FTW.
 
 
-4 #9 TechHog 2011-02-21 16:31
Quoting MrScary:
This review is gonna be nominated to the razzies of the worst tecnical press review ever made :D, is super laughtable, a joke.

Like said guidex, is a total nonsense.

If you want to know the truth just go to anadtech or legitreviews, the made the best review about AMD Fusion, and is clearly a winner.

AMD FTW.

MrScary said something we can agree with.

This is a bad sign.
 
 
-7 #10 Regenweald 2011-02-21 16:52
Atom is only dead if AMD can get products to market. They seem to be struggling with that currently. You can't beat a product if you don't have inventory to fill its place.
 

To be able to post comments please log-in with Disqus

 

Facebook activity

Latest Commented Articles

Recent Comments