Monday, 29 November 2010 08:01

Scythe Setsugen 2 shows off (updated) - HD4890

Written by Eliot Kucharik
Scythe_Setsugen_2_top_w_fan_small recommended08_75

Review: Latest Scythe VGA-Cooler with superb potential  

On of our users requested an update with a HD4890, which should be a little hotter compared to the HD6870. Our HD4890 is clocked at 850MHz for the core and 975MHz for the memory. Overclocked versions will of course get hotter. We were pretty impressed with the results so we didn't bother testing at 2000rpm.

 

HD4890 idle temperatures:

sycthe_setsugen_2_hd4890_low_fan_idle

Idle temperatures at 760rpm.

 

sycthe_setsugen_2_hd6870_1000rpm_fan_idle

Of course lower with 1000rpm.

 

sycthe_setsugen_2_hd4890_25mm_fan_ide

Idle temperatures with a 25mm fan at 1000rpm.

 

HD4890 Furmark:

sycthe_setsugen_2_hd4890_low_fan_furmark

760rpm; indeed very impressive.

 

sycthe_setsugen_2_hd4890_1000rpm_fan_furmark

At 1000rpm 5°C less.

 

sycthe_setsugen_2_hd4890_25mm_fan_furmark

The 25mm fan at 1000rpm is of course the best.

 

Lost Planet 2:

sycthe_setsugen_2_hd4890_low_fan_lp2

At 760rpm we nearly hit Furmark temperatures, but nothing to worry about.

 

sycthe_setsugen_2_hd4890_1000rpm_fan_lp2

1000rpm; on par with Furmark.

 

sycthe_setsugen_2_hd4890_25mm_fan_lp2

The 25mm is, as usual, the most efficient.

 

 

(Page 10 of 10)
Last modified on Tuesday, 30 November 2010 13:08
blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments  

 
+3 #1 Freddy 2010-11-29 10:12
I dont wana be rude, but that was one of the worst reviews I have ever read... First just want to ask. why did you pick the HD6870? There is no issues with this cards temps or noise. Would make a whole lot more sense to review it with a actual card that people would seek alternate cooling. like the GTX 470. Next up. I like looking at Afterburner shots as much as the next guy. all 20 of them. but surely this would be ALOT easier if u just put all the stats in a little bar chart? i mean 4 pages of Afterburner shots is just too dam much!
 
 
+1 #2 eliot 2010-11-29 11:25
Quoting Freddy:
I dont wana be rude, but that was one of the worst reviews I have ever read... First just want to ask. why did you pick the HD6870? There is no issues with this cards temps or noise. Would make a whole lot more sense to review it with a actual card that people would seek alternate cooling. like the GTX 470. Next up. I like looking at Afterburner shots as much as the next guy. all 20 of them. but surely this would be ALOT easier if u just put all the stats in a little bar chart? i mean 4 pages of Afterburner shots is just too dam much!


First, you are rude.
Second, if you don't think anything wrong with the stock cooling, that's your choice. For me, the noise is unbearable under gaming. Just accept there are people who are sensitive to noise, especially if they are causul gamers and don't use their soundsystem at maximum settings where noise would be irrelevant. Some have to work with there machine too and they like it silent.
Third, it's not the case we could keep any card we get, so all the GTX470 were returned. So, if you have a GTX470 lying around which you don't need, please send it to me. I would have prefered to test it with a HD6950 or HD6970 if they would be available. And I do not set the launch dates for Scythe :D
Forth, a chart would not show GPU utilization, which I think is important.
 
 
-2 #3 Freddy 2010-11-29 12:10
When you work on the pc the card goes into idle mode is near silent. simple example of a chart would be like this

http://www.pureoverclock.com/review.php?id=1150&page=6
 
 
0 #4 Wolfdale 2010-11-29 14:53
i concur with freddy,
this is a limited review..

more comparisons,.. throw it on a REALLY hot card..
or try to overclock the one u used and see how much burn you can get from the gpu , and how much the cooler can REALLY handle

also, you throw a very big personal stamp on this card by saying you dont like this and that,
but try to make an objective review..
in a lot of situations, a seperate fan controller is very welcome,
its not like you have 5 of them on the back of your comp anyway

and indeed,
its not hard to throw some data into office and make a nice graph
 
 
+2 #5 DJDestiny 2010-11-29 16:42
It's fine .
What's the issue with putting a 6870 ?
Or you guys fed-up that your Nvidiot is a real sucker ?
 
 
+2 #6 yasin 2010-11-29 18:32
Quoting DJDestiny:
It's fine .
What's the issue with putting a 6870 ?
Or you guys fed-up that your Nvidiot is a real sucker ?

well tbh, the nvidia gpus are the ones that run at 70deg C+, and need the cooling most.
 
 
+1 #7 Supercrit 2010-11-29 22:13
I think this cooler is for people who want a thin cooler that takes 2 slots max, while having better than stock temperatures, not for pure performance, since most performance coolers take 3 slots(fan included)
 
 
0 #8 Wolfdale 2010-11-30 01:51
i mean.. i use 2x 4890 myself, and while this review obviously gives some insights, i wonder what the cooler would do on other cards BUT the 6870 tested (not all cards are unique anyway)
my 4890 runs on 1000mhz/5500mhz
so yeah, i wonder what this cooler would do for my card, i know my t-rad2 has a easy job for it..
but i did have to apply additional VRM heatsinks (not those crappy sticker ones)
because i actually burned one card cuz of overheated VRM's WITH the t-rad2

right now it works like a charm, but yeah i wonder what this one *could* do for my cards and the insane ammount of stress caused by my VRMS (ive seen em go 90+ even with heatsink screwed on)
but no much info about that either
 
 
0 #9 eliot 2010-11-30 12:29
Quoting Wolfdale:
i mean.. i use 2x 4890 myself, and while this review obviously gives some insights, i wonder what the cooler would do on other cards BUT the 6870 tested (not all cards are unique anyway)
my 4890 runs on 1000mhz/5500mhz
so yeah, i wonder what this cooler would do for my card, i know my t-rad2 has a easy job for it..


I can assure you, that a HD4890 can be cooled very easily. In some minutes I should have the tests online :-)
 
 
0 #10 Wolfdale 2010-12-01 20:27
thanks for the update eliot,
appriciate it, and indeed these are good figures,
i do wonder how hot the VRMS got during those tests, and if you modified any way of cooling on them during the tests

i know for the 48## cards, the vrms are the bottlenecks for serious overclocking and/or custom cooling,
as i said, i actually managed to fry one, even tough core temps were well within limits, but i forgot to take notice of the boiling temps going on at the vrm's
 

To be able to post comments please log-in with Disqus

 

Facebook activity

Latest Commented Articles

Recent Comments