Monday, 29 November 2010 08:01

Scythe Setsugen 2 shows off (updated) - Overview

Written by Eliot Kucharik
Scythe_Setsugen_2_top_w_fan_small recommended08_75

Review: Latest Scythe VGA-Cooler with superb potential  

Overview:

As can be expected, the compatibily list has greatly improved and now covers pretty much any nVidia GeForce Card up to GTX 470 as well as Radeon HDs up to 6870. Because the cooler went on sale in Japan before the HD 68xx cards where launched, you won't find any mention of these cards of them on the package or installation sheets. This cooler would also cool the GTX 480/580 cards, but because the VRM regulators are on the left side of the card you need additonal cooling to keep the cards from damage. The package contains lots of additonal parts. To save money Scythe did not include PCIe 6pin power extender nor a second PCIe 8pin power extender which would protect the cooler if you need to swap your card more often. Due to the size of the cooler it's quite hard to remove the power-connectors.

Scythe Setsugen 2 Accessories

You will notice the shape of the cooler is more quadratic and the four heatpipes go twice through the aluminium fins to optimize heat-disappation. It measures 176x139x33mm which will make any graphics-card into a two slot design. The overhanging portion of the cooler will hinder its use in Mini-Tower cases. As usual, the workmanship is excellent.

Scythe Setsugen 2 Cooler Top with fan

 

Scythe Setsugen 2 Cooler Top without fan

 

As expected from Scythe, the workmanship is excellent, but nickel-plated heatpipes would not have hurt.

 

Scythe Setsugen 2 Cooler Bottom

 

For some reason Scythe sticks to the annoying fans with fan-controller bracket. It would be more usefull to supply a cable with adapters for common 3-pin and 4-pin graphics-cards fan-connectors. This would allow the graphics-card to control the fan depending on the temperature and would also save a slot. Of course it's recommended to keep one slot free, but nowadays extremly short-sized PCIe adapters are available which would not hinder air-flow. The overhanging cooler-designs prevents heat accumulation directly on the graphics-card.

 

Scythe Setsugen 2 Side View with Fan-Controller

 

Scythe Setsugen 2 Fan

If you are as annoyed as we with the fan-controller, you can use any other 12mm slim fan to either keep the two-slot design or fit a 25mm fan with cable straps which will improve the airflow greatly. As you can see the identical fan without the controller is available for about €6,30. Both fans rotate up to 2000rpm and the airflow is up to 78m³/h or 45.5CFM.

 

Scythe Slip Stream 2000rpm Fan

 

(Page 2 of 10)
Last modified on Tuesday, 30 November 2010 13:08
blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments  

 
+3 #1 Freddy 2010-11-29 10:12
I dont wana be rude, but that was one of the worst reviews I have ever read... First just want to ask. why did you pick the HD6870? There is no issues with this cards temps or noise. Would make a whole lot more sense to review it with a actual card that people would seek alternate cooling. like the GTX 470. Next up. I like looking at Afterburner shots as much as the next guy. all 20 of them. but surely this would be ALOT easier if u just put all the stats in a little bar chart? i mean 4 pages of Afterburner shots is just too dam much!
 
 
+1 #2 eliot 2010-11-29 11:25
Quoting Freddy:
I dont wana be rude, but that was one of the worst reviews I have ever read... First just want to ask. why did you pick the HD6870? There is no issues with this cards temps or noise. Would make a whole lot more sense to review it with a actual card that people would seek alternate cooling. like the GTX 470. Next up. I like looking at Afterburner shots as much as the next guy. all 20 of them. but surely this would be ALOT easier if u just put all the stats in a little bar chart? i mean 4 pages of Afterburner shots is just too dam much!


First, you are rude.
Second, if you don't think anything wrong with the stock cooling, that's your choice. For me, the noise is unbearable under gaming. Just accept there are people who are sensitive to noise, especially if they are causul gamers and don't use their soundsystem at maximum settings where noise would be irrelevant. Some have to work with there machine too and they like it silent.
Third, it's not the case we could keep any card we get, so all the GTX470 were returned. So, if you have a GTX470 lying around which you don't need, please send it to me. I would have prefered to test it with a HD6950 or HD6970 if they would be available. And I do not set the launch dates for Scythe :D
Forth, a chart would not show GPU utilization, which I think is important.
 
 
-2 #3 Freddy 2010-11-29 12:10
When you work on the pc the card goes into idle mode is near silent. simple example of a chart would be like this

http://www.pureoverclock.com/review.php?id=1150&page=6
 
 
0 #4 Wolfdale 2010-11-29 14:53
i concur with freddy,
this is a limited review..

more comparisons,.. throw it on a REALLY hot card..
or try to overclock the one u used and see how much burn you can get from the gpu , and how much the cooler can REALLY handle

also, you throw a very big personal stamp on this card by saying you dont like this and that,
but try to make an objective review..
in a lot of situations, a seperate fan controller is very welcome,
its not like you have 5 of them on the back of your comp anyway

and indeed,
its not hard to throw some data into office and make a nice graph
 
 
+2 #5 DJDestiny 2010-11-29 16:42
It's fine .
What's the issue with putting a 6870 ?
Or you guys fed-up that your Nvidiot is a real sucker ?
 
 
+2 #6 yasin 2010-11-29 18:32
Quoting DJDestiny:
It's fine .
What's the issue with putting a 6870 ?
Or you guys fed-up that your Nvidiot is a real sucker ?

well tbh, the nvidia gpus are the ones that run at 70deg C+, and need the cooling most.
 
 
+1 #7 Supercrit 2010-11-29 22:13
I think this cooler is for people who want a thin cooler that takes 2 slots max, while having better than stock temperatures, not for pure performance, since most performance coolers take 3 slots(fan included)
 
 
0 #8 Wolfdale 2010-11-30 01:51
i mean.. i use 2x 4890 myself, and while this review obviously gives some insights, i wonder what the cooler would do on other cards BUT the 6870 tested (not all cards are unique anyway)
my 4890 runs on 1000mhz/5500mhz
so yeah, i wonder what this cooler would do for my card, i know my t-rad2 has a easy job for it..
but i did have to apply additional VRM heatsinks (not those crappy sticker ones)
because i actually burned one card cuz of overheated VRM's WITH the t-rad2

right now it works like a charm, but yeah i wonder what this one *could* do for my cards and the insane ammount of stress caused by my VRMS (ive seen em go 90+ even with heatsink screwed on)
but no much info about that either
 
 
0 #9 eliot 2010-11-30 12:29
Quoting Wolfdale:
i mean.. i use 2x 4890 myself, and while this review obviously gives some insights, i wonder what the cooler would do on other cards BUT the 6870 tested (not all cards are unique anyway)
my 4890 runs on 1000mhz/5500mhz
so yeah, i wonder what this cooler would do for my card, i know my t-rad2 has a easy job for it..


I can assure you, that a HD4890 can be cooled very easily. In some minutes I should have the tests online :-)
 
 
0 #10 Wolfdale 2010-12-01 20:27
thanks for the update eliot,
appriciate it, and indeed these are good figures,
i do wonder how hot the VRMS got during those tests, and if you modified any way of cooling on them during the tests

i know for the 48## cards, the vrms are the bottlenecks for serious overclocking and/or custom cooling,
as i said, i actually managed to fry one, even tough core temps were well within limits, but i forgot to take notice of the boiling temps going on at the vrm's
 

To be able to post comments please log-in with Disqus

 

Facebook activity

Latest Commented Articles

Recent Comments