Arstechnica is reporting that lawmakers in several US states got the bright idea to legislalte the sales of used CDs in pawnshops. The law was passed In Florida and Utah, and some questionalbe draconian laws can soon be expected in Rhode Island and Wisconsin.
It will be a bit more difficult to sell your crappy old music in these states, a bit more difficult than getting a driver's licence in fact. Floridians, for example, will have to wait for 30 days before the pawn shop, retailer or whatever/whoever can sell their CDs.
And as we all know form gun control legislation, waiting periods work like a charm. If somebody told me I'd have to wait 30 days before selling an ancient CD, I would probably be very, very upset.
Published in News
New used CD control legislation in the US
by Nermin Hajdarbegovic on08 May 2007
Wait for 30 days before you can sell it