Fudzilla
April 23, 2014, 11:13:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Fudzilla Forum is open
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD disabled cores/cache  (Read 4874 times)
rambaldi
Full Member
***
Posts: 123


View Profile
« on: November 27, 2009, 12:46:03 PM »

are there figures on the %s of successful vs unsuccessful attempts at unlocking all these "locked up" features? And also the overclocking performance of the unlocked chips. It would be interesting as it might shed some light on the testing done, these are probably higher spec chips (in a lot but not all cases) that failed so just had the failing component disconected but perhaps they are fine at lower ratings.
Logged

Phenom II x4 965 (c3), MSI 790FX GD70, MSI HD5970, 2x2GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 CL7,  4x1TB Seagate 7200.12, Ikonic RaX10 Liquid, Silverstone ST1500
o3
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2009, 10:37:54 AM »

From what I've seen, unlockability depends heavily on the date of the CPU, certain production week batches unlock pretty much without exception, some weeks batches just don't.
Logged
rambaldi
Full Member
***
Posts: 123


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2009, 12:24:52 PM »

Interesting. I don't know many specifics about the inside of a fab but could those be traced to specific masks or similar?
Logged

Phenom II x4 965 (c3), MSI 790FX GD70, MSI HD5970, 2x2GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 CL7,  4x1TB Seagate 7200.12, Ikonic RaX10 Liquid, Silverstone ST1500
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!