Fudzilla
April 20, 2014, 06:33:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Fudzilla Forum is open
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: MSI is cheating with 790GX... MS7551  (Read 5058 times)
MC Pite
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« on: February 07, 2009, 08:40:37 PM »

I bought a KA790GX mainboard (in faith) with SB750 and 790GX chipset.

But the overclock doesn't go, there is no ACC (ACC is in SB750), the AMD Overdrive software goes not well and didn't recognize well the mainboard...

I've searched and I've found...  I read after a little deeper and i've found it IS a (renamed) KA780G with SB700!!!
The 790GX is only a decal and a stinrg in the bios  Angry



Other guys share eg. this:
http://technik-ostfriese.com/technik-ostfriese/cemsika790gx.php


This info is only out from 2009!
Earlier: http://technik-ostfriese.com/technik-ostfriese/bilder/msika790gx/msika790gxohin.jpg

MSI is lying to us...
I've changed from a 780G mainboard because i need ACC and Raid5  :angryfire:

MSI...


Here goes:http://forum.msi.com.tw/index.php?topic=124104.msg936572#msg936572


« Last Edit: February 07, 2009, 11:49:32 PM by MC Pite » Logged
MC Pite
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2009, 08:21:35 PM »

"As far as I have understood the information that came out of the discussions in the German MSI Forum, the board definately has an SB750, however the ACC pin outs are not connected to the PCB. "
Logged
Thomas
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2009, 12:24:26 AM »

 
The first BIOS of the KA790GX was displaying the SB700 instead of SB750.
The new BIOS revision fixes this and the southbridge of KA790GX is displayed correctly: SB750.
To be clear KA790GX uses similar to DKA790GX Platinum and DKA790GX the SB750 southbridge.
 
There is only one difference. DKA790GX Platinum and DKA790GX have the traces in the PCB to use ACC but the KA790GX does not have these traces. So ACC is not working on KA790GX but it has SB750 (with Raid 5 support). This is because KA790GX uses the PCB of KA780G which comes with SB700 and there was no room reserved in the PCB to add the ACC traces.
 
This was first not shown correctly on our website but corrected in November 2008

BR,

Thomas
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 12:34:52 PM by Thomas » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!