Fudzilla
April 17, 2014, 05:56:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Fudzilla Forum is open
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Temps in the ATI 4850 can be fixed  (Read 8274 times)
Majikka
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
« on: June 29, 2008, 09:20:00 PM »

There are a few ways to get your temps down.

My card is a MSI HD4850 512MB.

First Option: I wanted to lower the temps. The real problem with the temp is the CCC default profile is wrong(fan control). So you need to make your own profile for Overdrive. First you need to turn on Overdrive and then set it to default. Second, you will need to set it to manual and change the fan speed.

Go to this location and open with notepad.
 C:\Documents and Settings\"your login name"\Local Settings\Application Data\ATI\ACE\"your profile name here".xml

Find this location within the file and change that is red(bold):

- <Feature name="FanSpeedAlgorithm_0">
  <Property name="FanSpeedAlgorithm" value="Manual" />
  </Feature>
- <Feature name="FanSpeedRPMTarget_0">
  <Property name="Want" value="0" />
  </Feature>
- <Feature name="FanSpeedPercentTarget_0">
  <Property name="Want" value="65" />

(WARNING, USE AT YOUR OWN RISK)  Wink
Second Option: I wanted to lower the clocked on 2D mode so you need to flash your card with a new BIOS. Some people are able to flash their card with the MSI BIOS, do this at your own risk.

Windows BIOS Flash for ATI Cards:
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1122/Winflash_2.0.1.2.html
BIOS Database:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/

(WARNING, USE AT YOUR OWN RISK)  Wink
Third Option: Edit the BIOS and change the temp and fan speed scaling.
BIOS Editor:
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1121/TechPowerUp_Radeon_Bios_Editor_v1.11.html
BIOS Database:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/





What's updated?:
0.20 Updated guide, moved around some stuff, and added 3rd option.
0.10 Updated the pics, added bold to 2 lines.


« Last Edit: July 11, 2008, 06:25:07 AM by Majikka » Logged
fudo
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 161


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2008, 04:59:15 PM »

thanks for sharing that with us
Logged
Majikka
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2008, 06:44:16 AM »

thanks for sharing that with us

welcome

update:
I will be doing a overhaul on this thread. I have found some new ways to fix the temp issue.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2008, 12:54:48 AM by Majikka » Logged
Majikka
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2008, 06:05:58 AM »

Been doing some OCing tests. seems that 680mhz isn't stable, it's not the temp, it is just not stable. 675mhz is the sweet spot. On the memory side it I OC it to 1050mhz but 1100mhz isn't stable. The difference in performance between 1000mhz and 1050mhz is prettying much nothing after looking at the numerous tests I've done. so you can call this "cheap memory"

On the temperature side, 50-60c is normal on the stock heatsink. when the fan is at 100% speed (8000=rpm) I could only get it to 50c on 2D mode. For me 65% is the sweet spot.

Running at 675mhz and 1000mhz stable.


« Last Edit: July 11, 2008, 06:13:44 AM by Majikka » Logged
DarkElfa
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


Not your father's Elfa.


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2008, 10:37:26 AM »

Bah, 45% is fine for an HD 4870, at 100% usage, my 4870 OC'd to 790/1100 never exceeds 65 Celsius.  I've found that once you get over 50% on the fan, it begins to get whiny.  Either way, the hotness of the HD 48X0 series can be directly contributed to the current drivers settings.  IOW, the current cooler is fine, it just doesn't get set high enough by default.
Logged

Eliot
Fudzilla Crew
Full Member
*****
Posts: 107


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2008, 11:32:29 AM »

Thanks for the tips, but the real question is, why didn't MSI lower the VCore @160MHz, because there would be also more powersavings in that and why the memory is still clocked quite high...


best,

Eliot
Logged
Majikka
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2008, 07:54:21 AM »

not sure there, but you can also check out the bios on the other cards, and then change it to that.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!