Fudzilla
April 16, 2014, 05:42:55 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Fudzilla Forum is open
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: SLI on X38  (Read 6654 times)
manson
Newbie
*
Posts: 32


View Profile Email
« on: November 02, 2007, 10:32:21 PM »

http://www.nordichardware.com/news,7008.html

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=2527010&postcount=1

so is not only on intel Skull
Logged
roosterbaby!
Newbie
*
Posts: 48


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2008, 03:57:56 AM »

I think it's only natural that SLI moves beyond the so-called SLI chip sets as the movement of the GPU go's dual core. I for one can't wait for the G92, as buying one card for about 600 dollars or 200 for the low end is a freakin  steal. Here's hoping they get many of these to market so the price isn't way off base.
Logged
Jon
Global Moderator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 234


swallow your pride.

audiofreak39@gmail.com AuDioFreaK39
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2008, 07:04:48 AM »

I believe that the X38 chipset can still only run Crossfire, as SLi needs two full bandwidth PCI-E x16 slots.  And although the chipset does support the PCI-E 2.0 spec, I doubt the hardware is in place to run such a setup - hence the reasoning for this is so Nvidia can profit from their nForce 780i and 790i chipsets.
Logged

Core i7 Extreme 965 {} EVGA X58 SLI Classified Limited Edition{} 6GB Mushkin XP Series DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20 {} EVGA GeForce GTX 295 Plus [Quad-SLI] {} Thermalright TRUE Copper
RussianHAXOR
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2008, 03:34:24 AM »

Hp hacked an ASUS X38 board and put SLi on it.  Grin
Logged
Eliot
Fudzilla Crew
Full Member
*****
Posts: 107


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2008, 06:30:30 AM »

so is not only on intel Skull

On Skulltrail Intel put two nVidia chips onboard, which do infact nothing, except enabling SLI.

Of course any Chipset is able to do SLI, it's just a question if the driver let them.


best,

Eliot
Logged
aznstriker92
Full Member
***
Posts: 151



View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2008, 11:43:37 PM »

I read that somewhere that it is possible to run SLI but you need to hack like russian said.
Logged

Running a X600 128mb, In need of a new graphics card badly......
Fonti
Newbie
*
Posts: 3



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2008, 06:51:38 PM »

I just purchased an Intel X 38 ASUS Maximus Extreme motherboard, and i am wondering, if the Nvidia 9800GX2 would enable SLI on it,since it uses a single PCIe x16 slot.
Logged
Eliot
Fudzilla Crew
Full Member
*****
Posts: 107


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2008, 07:00:33 AM »

I just purchased an Intel X 38 ASUS Maximus Extreme motherboard, and i am wondering, if the Nvidia 9800GX2 would enable SLI on it,since it uses a single PCIe x16 slot.

The GX2 uses an internal nVidia bridge chip, so this card has to work on any chipset.


best,

Eliot.
Logged
Fonti
Newbie
*
Posts: 3



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2008, 12:39:56 AM »

Thanks for the Info (ordering Card NOW) Grin
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!