Fudzilla
April 19, 2014, 01:14:14 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Fudzilla Forum is open
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: R600 uses 240W, Fuad you got it wrong  (Read 4405 times)
Mojoe
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« on: May 02, 2007, 09:20:12 PM »

The R600 cant use 240W, the Pci-E gives 75w and so does the 6x2 power plugs each. So that gives 225w at max, so my guess is that it should be a bit below that. AS you have said self, you need the 8 pin to overclock. That make sence.
Logged
7331
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2007, 01:11:01 PM »

If the card runs at 100 C, it might as well use 350W.
Logged
Mojoe
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2007, 06:05:21 PM »

Something Fuad and others can shew on.

Quote
Hi there

Our system had an Enermax 1000W PSU.

I have the ATI Tech/Fact sheet here so upto 200W is requirement at stock clocks with 2x6pin connectors.

If overclocking then you need 1x8pin and 1x6pin connected and then it consumes upto 225W.

I hope ATI don't bash me for stating this but I don't want misleading information such as that going around.

Fact is a decent quality 400-500W PSU will run of these cards fine if your running a Core 2 DUO system or Athlon X2 based system.

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=9247744&postcount=18
Logged
Mojoe
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2007, 06:25:30 PM »

And some temps of the R600.

Quote
- 28C room
- 58C idle
- 60C 3sec after benchmark
- 52C case after hours of oc-tests

http://we.pcinlife.com/viewthread.php?tid=759069&page=2&fromuid=167461#pid14366626

Logged
R600King!
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2007, 09:37:52 PM »

Fuad,

Seems like a few people that actually have the cards are reporting it being quiet(quieter than current gen) , cool(70~80 under load) and 200w(default)~225w(overclocked) at max.

Do you have any reply to all this info contrary to yours?

Logged
fudo
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 161


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2007, 05:01:56 PM »

I show you the pictures and the values some of them came from AMD's docs Smiley beleive what you want but its hot and it needs a lot of power
Logged
eugene
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2007, 04:59:50 PM »

i've heard that you can use an adapter cable like this to power up your 8800 cards (2 of these come with the card in the box when you purchase it, at least for asus)



my question is - can you have the same thing for ati card?



cause even if they have the 4 pin power connector i don't really see the problem if you can use this adapter...
Logged
eugene
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2007, 05:57:29 PM »

yup i was correct every gtx shipps with 2 x 6pin > analog PSU connectors. check the pic below
so my question is why is all this hoo-haa about 8pin ati connector when all you have to have is a 450+ watt PSU with enough analog outs? most have switched to SATA discs which have different power cables, which leave 1 dvd-rw combo hanging on the analog psu cable. so...?
http://www.ixbt.com/video3/images/g80-6/evga-8800gtx-complect.jpg

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!